Terps ACC football opponents set

Sports,Campus Confidential,Kevin Dunleavy,Terps

The ACC has announced its newly-configured football schedule for 2013. Maryland will play home games against Virginia, Clemson, Boston College, and Syracuse. Its road opponents will be Virginia Tech, Florida State, North Carolina State, and Wake Forest. The complete ACC schedule with dates will be released early next month.

Maryland will play West Virginia at M&T Bank Stadium on Sept. 21, the highlight of the Terrapins’ 2013 non-conference schedule. Other non-conference foes will be Florida Atlantic at home (Aug. 31 in the season opener), Old Dominion at home (Sept. 7), and UConn on the road (Sept. 14).

The ACC’s two divisions remain intact with Syracuse joining the Atlantic, which includes Maryland, Clemson, Florida State, Boston College, North Carolina State, and Wake Forest. Pittsburgh joins the Coastal Division with Virginia, Virginia Tech, Georgia Tech, Duke, North Carolina, Miami.

All teams will play division opponents each year and have two games against teams from the other division – one primary crossover opponent which remains constant and one rotating crossover opponent.

Virginia will be the permanent crossover foe for Maryland. Other permanent crossover pairs are Virginia Tech-Boston College, Georgia Tech-Clemson, Florida State-Miami, North Carolina-North Carolina State, Syracuse-Pittsburgh, and Duke-Wake Forest.

Next fall Virginia will play Duke, Georgia Tech, Virginia Tech, and Clemson (rotating crossover opponent) at home. The Cavaliers’ road games are against Pittsburgh, Miami, North Carolina, and Maryland.

Virginia Tech will play home games against Duke, North Carolina, Pittsburgh, and Maryland (rotating crossover opponent). The Hokies road foes will be Georgia Tech, Miami, Virginia, and Boston College.

Because of the new configuration, Virginia Tech will play three same site/same opponent games as 2012 – at Miami, at Boston College, and home against Duke. The only other same site/same opponent games from 2012 are Duke at Wake, Miami at Duke, and Georgia Tech at Clemson.

View article comments Leave a comment