US embassies in 4 African countries also closed

wochit politics
August 05, 2013 AT 1:54 PM
Days before the 15th anniversary of al-Qaida's bombings of American diplomatic missions in Kenya and Tanzania, the U.S. State Department closed its embassies in four sub-Saharan African nations as part of a heightened security alert. The State Department has shut down U.S. facilities in countries including Egypt, Jordan, Libya, Yemen, Saudi Arabia and Kuwait until Aug. 10. U.S. diplomatic posts in 19 cities, including the four in sub-Saharan Africa, will be closed through the end of the week.